Home » Israel » Tachat Kanfei HaShechina

Tachat Kanfei HaShechina

I have never not felt safe
wrapped in my tallis
in one of my many colored tallitot
Like being wrapped in the very wings of God
Tachat Kanfei haShechina

What better armor could I need?
I might have asked you
yesterday.
But today I know better
Know
that men can be murdered while at prayer
While leading others in prayer
While wrapped in white pure tallesim
White pure now stained red

The synagogue is no place for blood
is no place for murder
is no place for terror

The synagogue should be a safe place
A SANCTUARY
But men are killed in God’s house
Not the first time surely
not the last.

Men dying with prayers of peace on their lips?

How do I pray today?
Tomorrow?
How do I wrap myself in a tallit
and beckon others to follow?
How do I advocate for prayer in such a world?
And how can I not?

Leave a Reply

