Home » Uncategorized » Elul 3: Bless

Elul 3: Bless

The 3rd Day of Elul instructs me to Bless. 

As a rabbi, I’m always suggesting that people bless the everyday moments and things in their lives. Our sages told us to say 100 blessings a day. I’m not sure I’ve ever made it to 100. I should take their advice though. I should take my own.

Here are the blessings of today:

I am blessed to have animal companions who fill my life with laughter and love.

I am blessed to have a car to transport me to where I need to go. It seems a small thing, but when you think about how many people in the world don’t have the independence and opportunities afforded to them by owning a car, it’s really quite miraculous.

I am blessed to have the resources to travel. Not everywhere I want to go. Not every time I want to go. But I can get to the important moments in life and have a little fun to boot. I am grateful for this.

I am blessed to sleep with a roof over my head. I only sleep under the stars when I choose to. I am grateful for even uncomfortable beds.

I am blessed to have a family. We’re not perfect. No family is. But I’d much rather have them then not have them.

I am blessed to have friends who understand me and who share the ups and downs of life with me.

I am blessed to be able to reconnect with friends after a time apart.

I am blessed to have food to eat when I am hungry and I am blessed to have the resources to contribute to the hunger of others on a regular basis.

I am blessed to be a Canadian citizen.

I am blessed to be a rabbi who is invited to share in people’s happiest and saddest moments in life. 

I am blessed to be Jewish. It brings so much meaning to my life.

I am blessed to have the opportunity that Elul affords me – to reflect on what I am grateful for and to bless.

Leave a Reply

