Home » Uncategorized » I am the Shepherd

I am the Shepherd

Sometimes, when I’m doing somber-rabbi-tasks, I hear the following words in my head as my rabbi-self and my geek-self collide:

“Night gathers, and now my watch begins. It shall not end until my death… I am the sword in the darkness. I am the watcher on the walls. I am the shield that guards the realms of men. I pledge my life and honor… for this night and all the nights to come.”

Somewhere there is probably a Biblical or Talmudic quote that is more appropriate. Or maybe I should write my own version of George R.R. Martin’s Oath of the Men of the Night’s Watch; an oath for rabbis:

I am the shepherd who walks behind the family. I am the prophet who says what no one wants to hear. I am the priest who leads the rites. …

It’s a work in progress…

It is a comforting mantra nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

